Football Transfer Update

shneiderlin shweini manutd

Manchester United have completed the double signing of Germany midfielder Bastian Schweinsteiger and France international Morgan Schneiderlin.

Schweinsteiger, 30, has signed a three-year contract from Bundesliga champions Bayern Munich for a reported £14.4m.Schneiderlin has moved from fellow Premier League club Southampton for a fee in the region of £25m.

The 25-year-old midfielder has signed a four-year contract with the option to extend it by a further year.

“I have thoroughly enjoyed my time at Bayern Munich. It has been an incredible journey and I didn’t take the decision to leave lightly,” said the German. “Manchester United is the only club that I would have left Munich for.I feel ready for this new and exciting challenge in what I regard as the most competitive league in the world and I am looking forward to working with Louis van Gaal again.”

Schneiderlin joined Saints from Strasbourg in 2008 for £1.2m and has played for them in League One, the Championship and the Premier League.

“Once I learned that United were interested in signing me, it was a very easy decision to make,” said the Frenchman.I have enjoyed seven very happy years with Southampton and it’s a club that will always be in my heart. But the chance to be part of this squad to help this great club be successful was too good to miss.”

asmir

 

 

 

 

 

Meanwhile,Chelsea have signed goalkeeper Asmir Begovic from Premier League rivals Stoke City for an undisclosed fee, reported to be £8m.The Bosnia-Hercegovina international joins Chelsea on a four-year deal.Stoke had hoped to keep the 28 year old, who had one year remaining on his contract at the Britannia Stadium.

“I have loved my time at Stoke but feel I had to take this opportunity to continue to develop and challenge myself as a player,” Begovic said.

Begovic, who joined the Potters from portsmouth in 2010, is the champions’ second signing of the summer following the arrival of Radamael Falcao on a season-long deal.Begovic, who will challenge Thibaut Courtois for the main goalkeeper role.

“I am very happy to be joining Chelsea,” said Begovic.After speaking at length to the manager, I feel like I can develop here and be an important part of this team. I am looking forward to meeting up with the team on Wednesday for the pre-season tour.”

ION,Liverpool  reached an agreement with Manchester City over the £49m transfer of Raheem Sterling.The transfer of the 20-year-old England winger is subject to contract negotiations and a medical.

Sterling to City

Sterling had asked to leave Anfield and was the subject of two bids from City in June, which were rejected.The forward, who will become the most expensive English player ever, is under contract until 2017, but turned down a new £100,000-a-week deal at Liverpool.

 

Leave a Reply

